Romy and the apples.

I hope, all of you have had wonderful Christmas days! Before this year comes to an end, I want to show you another teeny weeny project of mine …

Even though I have not blogged about it constantly (ups …), I do hold pious intentions high, as you know … I did in fact continue to create little things throughout my everyday life. One of them was a huge amount of apple sauce:

Romy in the applebox

My Mr.’s mother is a gatherer. While my mother has the gift of tracking down every garment, piece of furniture or docorative object you could possibly wish for, for a reduced price or even for free, my Mr.’s mother discoveres free fruit, berries and vegetables all over the place. Lucky us – we appreciate both talents a lot. She regularly makes jam from berries she picked in some secret field path or plum cake from her landlord’s plum tree … A few weeks ago, she came along with huge amounts of apples. Again she had discovered some old and abandoned meadow orchard and grasped at the chance. She had far to many apples to use them on her own, so she gave a hole box to us.

Romy was delighted! She talked me into making apple sauce from them. Such a mess! And Romy just in the middle of it all. Puh! Please don’t ask for the recipe – the whole project was tackled in a learning-by-doing-style with a little sugar-shortage in the middle (sugar is crucial for apple sauce – without it you are/I was lost …). I’m surprised it worked out at all … Neverthless – the apple sauce is quite yummy :)

Apple sauce for RomyApple sauce for Romy

 

*****

Ich hoffe, ihr alle hattet wunderbare Weihnachtstage. Bevor dieses Jahr zu Ende geht, möchte ich euch noch ein klitzekleines Projekt von mir vorstellen …

Auch wenn ich nicht darüber gebloggt habe (ups …), sind mir gute Vorsätze sehr wichtig, wie du schon weißt … Tatsächlich habe ich aber weiter kleine kreative Projekte in meinem Alltag umgesetzt. Eines davon war eine riesige Menge Apfelmus:

Die Mutter meines Mr.’s ist eine Sammlerin. Während meine Mutter die Fähigkeit besitzt jedes nur erdenkliche Kleidungsstück, Möbel oder Dekobjekt das du dir wünschst für einen reduzierten Preis oder ganz umsonst aufzustöbern, entdeckt die Mutter meines Mr.’s überall umsonst Früchte, Beeren und Gemüse. Das freut uns sehr und wir wissen beide Fähigkeiten sehr zu schätzen. Sie macht regelmäßig Marmelade aus Beeren die sie auf irgendeinem geheimen Feldweg gepflückt hat oder Pflaumenkuchen von dem Pflaumenbaum ihres Vermieters. Vor kurzem kam sie mit einer riesigen Menge an Äpfeln an. Schon wieder hatte sie eine alte verlassene Streuobstwiese gefunden und die Chance genutzt. Sie hatte viel zu viele Äpfel, um sie alle alleine zu nutzen, also gab sie uns eine ganze Kiste ab.

Sehr zu Romys Vergnügen! Sie bequatschte mich, aus der ganzen Kiste Apfelmus zu machen. So eine Sauerei! Und Romy mittendrin. Puh! Fragt bitte nicht nach dem Rezept – die ganze Angelegenheit war eher ein Learning-by-Doing-Projekt mit einer kleinen Zucker-Knappheit in der Mitte (Zucker ist das wichtigste für Apfelmus – ohne Zucker ist man/war ich verloren). Ich bin überrascht, dass es überhaupt geklappt hat … Lecker ist das Apfelmus aber trotzdem :)

This entry was published on 28. December 2014 at 12:40. It’s filed under Allgemein, dolls and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

