My very first doll.

A few months ago I found the blog of Juliane alias Fröken Skicklig. She is a dollmaker in Sweden and makes the most wonderful dolls. Her work reminded me of what my mother used to do once!

When I was a girl my mother did lots of handcrafting herself. She used to stitch, sew and … make dolls. She used fabric and wool for them and covered the head with curly sheepskin. They were marvellous. My favourite one was called Lilli and was just as tall as me.

So I asked my mother if she would get her old doll making supplies out of the cellar and show me the tricks of dollmaking. And there we go … a tiny doll. She is called Romy and she is wonderful. Her limbs are soft and when you hold her she seems to nestle into your hands.

When I hold her, it really feels like magic to me. As if a part of your soul was living within her and looking back at you through her eyes. Strange, I know, but true! When you comfort her, you comfort your soul. When you treat her well, you treat yourself well.

This is what Romy looked like, when I finally digged her out.

Romy in the jarRomy in the jar

She grew splendidly in that bigger jar. But it became much too cold for her outside. Especially without any clothes. I gave her the new dotted dungarees I made for her – luckily they fit. Now she is often sitting next to me on the sofa or on my desk (just like in this moment) watching everything I do. And sabotaging everything I do. That’s what she is like: She knows how to attract my attention …

Romy in her dungareesRomy in her dungarees

 *****

Vor einigen Monaten fand ich den Blog von Juliane alias Fröken Skicklig. Sie ist eine Puppenmacherin in Schweden und macht die wunderschönsten Puppen. Ihre Arbeit erinnerte mich daran, was meine Mutter früher immer gemacht hat!

Als ich klein war, machte meine Mutter selber sehr viel Handarbeiten: Sie stickte, nähte, und … machte Puppen. Sie benutzte dafür Stoff und Stopfwolle und lockiges Schafsfell für die Haare. Sie waren so toll! Meine liebste Puppe hieß Lilli und war ganz genauso groß wie ich.

Also fragte ich meine Mutter, ob sie ihr altes Puppenmaterial aus dem Keller holen und mir die Tricks des Puppenmachens zeigen würde. Und – so schnell kann’s gehen – … eine winzige Puppe. Sie heißt Romy und ist großartig! Ihre Glieder sind weich und wenn man sie hält, kuschelt sie sich in deine Hand.

Für mich fühlt es sich wirklich wie Magie an, sie zu halten. Als ob ein Teil meiner Seele in ihr wohnen und mich durch ihre Augen anschauen würde. Komisch, ich weiß, aber wahr! Wenn ich sie tröste, tröste ich mich. Wenn ich sie gut behandle, behandle ich mich gut.

So sah Romy aus, als ich sie schließlich ausgrub.

In dem größeren Glas ist sie super gewachsen. Aber es wurde viel zu kalt für sie draußen. Vor allem ohne Kleidung. Ich zog ihr die neue gepunktete Latzhose an, die ich für sie gemacht hatte – zum Glück passt sie. Jetzt sitzt sie oft neben mir auf dem Sofa oder auf dem Schreibtisch (wie auch in diesem Moment) und schaut bei allem zu, was ich tue. So ist sie: Sie weiß, wie sie meine Aufmerksamkeit auf sich ziehen kann …

This entry was published on 21. December 2014 at 15:33. It’s filed under dolls and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “My very first doll.

  1. Pingback: Romy and the apples. | Pigeon Blue & Powder

Leave a Reply

