For you: Three wise men.

Even though it is still November the Christmas season is coming nearer and nearer. How do you feel about that? I do absolutely love it!

I’m one of those who are secretely pleased when the first Christmas products start to occur in the shops – even though it might still be October and even though I might pretend to be upset about that fact. But now, at the end of November, I can frankly say that I feel like Christmas now!

Therefore I put up the first Christmas decoration on the window yesterday. Quite keen, isn’t it? And you can do it just the same: At the end of this post you can download my little Christmas present for you – just go and see!

This year’s window decoration originally started as a project, that I thought I would only need for work. But as I fiddled along I realised that this was far to much fun to hide it from you …

We are having a christmas bazaar next week and I was asked to prepare a poster to advertise it. It had to be a poster that would display its full effect only through the colours black and white as there was no budged to print it professionally.

In such cases it is best to make a virtue out of necessity and therefore I tried to find a technique that lives on the black-white contrast: Silhouettes out of paper.

I drew the figures free-hand on black cardboard and cut it out with scissors and cutter. This gave a nice angular touch to everything and saved me from worrying about the drawing too much as it does not matter whether everything is absolutely orderly. Just another way to make a virtue out of necessity – I like that! It reduces stress for the perfectionis’s mind.

The stencils were then glued on a piece of tracing paper (greaseproof paper does the job, too) and put on a window. To finish the effect you can use a short chain of lights that you fix behind the paper.

If you want to decorate your window, too, use this pdf-stencil: Three wise men! You’re most happy to use it for your private decoration!

Three wise men

*****

Obwohl es noch immer November ist, kommt Weihnachten immer näher und näher. Was hältst du davon? Ich finde es super.

Ich gehöre zu denen, die sich über die ersten Weihnachtsprodukte in den Geschäften heimlich freuen – auch wenn es noch Oktober ist und auch wenn ich so tue, als ob ich mich darüber aufrege. Jetzt aber, Ende November, kann ich offen und ehrlich sagen: Mir ist nach Weihnachten!

Deshalb habe ich gestern die erste Weihnachtsdekoration im Fenster aufgehangen. Mutig, nicht? Und du kannst es genau so machen: Am Ende dieses Posts kannst du mein kleines Weihnachtsgeschenk für dich runterladen – schau einfach mal nach!

Die Fensterdekoration entstand aus einem Projekt, das ich eigentlich nur für die Arbeit angefangen hatte. Aber während ich so vor mich hin werkelte, dachte ich mir, dass es eigentlich viel zu schade dafür ist, es euch nicht zu zeigen …

Nächste Woche machen wir nämlich einen Weihnachtsbasar und ich hatte die Aufgabe, ein passendes Plakat dafür zu gestalten. Es musste ein Plakat sein, dass nur durch die Farben Schwarz und Weiß wirkt, weil es keine Möglichkeit gab, es professionell drucken zu lassen.

In solchen Fällen ist es am besten, man macht aus der Not eine Tugend und deshalb suchte und fand ich eine Technik, die genau von diesem schwarz-weißen Kontrast lebt: Scherenschnitt.

I habe die Figuren aus der freien Hand auf schwarze Pappe gezeichnet und mit Schere und Cutter ausgeschnitten. So entstand eine kantige Formensprache, die mich davor bewahrt hat, mir zu viele Sorgen um die Zeichnung zu machen: So war es egal, ob alles genau ordentlich gezeichnet ist. Gleich noch eine Möglichkeit, aus der Not eine Tugend zu machen – so mag ich das! Das spart dem Perfektionisten viel Stress!

Die Schablone habe ich dann auf einen Bogen Transparentpapier (Butterbrotpapier tut’s auch) geklebt und am Fenster aufgehangen. Um es perfekt zu machen, kann man eine kurze Lichterkette direkt hinter dem Papier anbringen.

Wenn du dein Fenster auch so gestalten willst, nimm doch diese pdf-Schablone: Three wise men! Du darfst sie gerne für den privaten Bereich verwenden!

Three wise men

Your stencil:

Deine Schablone:

Three wise men

This entry was published on 23. November 2014 at 13:22. It’s filed under giveaway, paper work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “For you: Three wise men.

  1. great idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

